HJ Events

HERFF JONES EVENTS

Camps and Workshops

JUNE

Rocky Mountain Journalism Summer Camp
University of Colorado, Boulder
June 27-30, 2022
Rebecca McGrath
rockymountainjournalism.com

Yearbook University
Utah State University – Logan, UT
June 29- July 1, 2022
Scott and Shelly Hansen & Stacie Nye
yearbooks@campusgrads.com

JULY

Georgia Yearbook Expo
South Forsyth HS – Cumming, GA
July 7-8, 2022 + July 9 optional
Gwen Childers, Kacie Kerhof, Megan Morris & Natalie White
www.GeorgiaYearbookEXPO.com

Yearbookpalooza
Florida Hotel & Conference Center – Orlando, FL
July 11-13, 2022
Jean Henry & Teenie Reddeck
yearbookpalooza.com

California Yearbook Academy
Cal State East Bay – Hayward, CA
July 11-14, 2022
Jaclyn Holman & Susan Heffran
www.picapower.com

All In // Herff Jones Summer Workshop
Virtual from Lipscomb University
July 13-14, 2022
herff.ly/all_in

Music City Yearbook Workshop
Lipscomb University – Nashville,TN
July 13-15, 2022
Mary Harris
musiccityyearbooks@gmail.com

Oklahoma Yearbook workshop
Southern Nazarene University – Oklahoma City, OK
July 18-19, 2022
Kris Hooper, Charles Cook and Stacy Gose
rkhooper@herffjones.com

Heart of Texas Yearbooks Summer Workshop
Cedar Creek HS – Cedar Creek, Texas
July 19, 2022, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Meredith Bledsoe
mabledsoe@herffjones.com 

YearbooksNCA!
University of the Pacific – Stockton, CA
July 19-22, 2022
Annette Johnson & Sara Cowan
aajohnson@herffjones.com or sjcowan@herffjones.com

Tampa Bay Cover Workshop
Hilton Garden Inn – Tampa Ybor Historic District
July 26-27, 2022, 9a.m.-5 p.m.
Morgan Miltner
mjmiltner@herffjones.com

YBK-STL
St. Louis, MO
July 26-28, 2022
Dan Mueller
dbmueller@herffjones.com

Yearbook NV
Westfield HS – Chantilly, VA
July 26-29, 2022
Kara Petersen & Pam Tripp
khpetersen@herffjones.com or pltripp@herffjones.com

Inland Northwest Yearbook Camp
Gonzaga University – Spokane, WA
July 28-30, 2022
Tim Benton & Jen Johnson
jtjohnson@herffjones.com

Yearbooks@theBeach
Cal State Long Beach – Long Beach, CA
July 30-August 4, 2022
Mimi Orth
www.yearbooksatthebeach.com

AUGUST

New Adviser Training
Tucson, AZ
August 13, 2022
Shawna Kugler
skugler@herffjones.com

YEARBOOKS NORTHWEST
Willamette University – Salem, OR
August 2-4, 2022
Genie Westfall and Carly Langdon
rdwestfall@herffjones.com

eDesign Orientations

eDesign Orientations

For All Staffers: Sign Up Here

July 21, 2022 4:00 p.m.
July 27, 2022 4:00 p.m.
August 4, 2022 1:00 p.m.
August 10, 2022 7:00 p.m.
August 15, 2022 1:00 p.m.
August 23, 2022 1:00 p.m.
September 1, 2022 7:00 p.m.
September 7, 2022 4:00 p.m.
September 15, 2022 4:00 p.m.

For Advisers and Editors: Sign Up Here

July 26, 2022 1:00 p.m.
August 8, 2022 4:00 p.m.
August 22, 2022 7:00 p.m.
September 5, 2022 1:00 p.m.

Page Design In-Depth: Sign Up Here

August 2, 2022 1:00 p.m.
August 17, 2022 4:00 p.m.
August 30, 2022 7:00 p.m.
September 12, 2022 4:00 p.m.

JEA/NSPA

JEA/NSPA SPRING NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL JOURNALISM CONVENTION

April 7-9, 2022

Westin Bonaventure

Los Angeles, CA

April 20-22, 2023

Hilton Union Square

San Francisco, CA

April 4-6, 2024

Sheraton-Westin

Kansas City, MO

JEA/NSPA FALL NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL JOURNALISM CONVENTION

Nov. 10-13, 2022

Grand Marriott

St. Louis, MO

Nov. 2-5, 2023

Sheraton

Boston, MA

CSPA

2023 March Convention

Wednesday, March 15; Thursday, March 16; and Friday, March 17, 2023

ACP / CMA

ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention

Oct. 27- Nov. 2, 2023

Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Atlanta, GA

HJ Virtual Summer YBK Workshop
HJ Virtual Summer YBK Workshop

Highlights from our fall roundtables

If you missed our Editors in Convos roundtables (or even if you attended), we have a treat for you! Some of our excellent former EICs have agreed to share their nuggets of wisdom in the form of short Q&A videos. These are great to start class conversations and reinforce important concepts in yearbooking.

EIC
 

BETTER COVERAGE

Edward Garcia
California State University, Long Beach
Walnut High School // Cayuse

 

REAL-LIFE SKILLS

Casey Medlin
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Cape Fear Academy // Shoreline

 

YBK ENVIRONMENT

Shannon Worley
University of Missouri, Columbia
Lafayette High School // Legend

 

STAFF ORGANIZATION

Madge Lister
Tulane University
Casady School // Twister

 

STAFF RECRUITMENT

Abby Sonnichsen
Washington State University
Mead High School // Pantera

 

IMPORTANCE OF YEARBOOK

Kali Rye
2022 Yearbook Editor-In-Chief
Patrick Henry High School // Encounter